Summary: This blog post describes the main causes of the Outlook attachment preview not working problems and suggests possible ways to troubleshoot it.
It is easy to open an attachment in Outlook, especially if you want to view it quickly. You do not need to download the file or open it in any other application, just return back to your email. However, users may encounter problems such as the Reading pane showing a blank page, receiving an error message saying that “the file cannot be previewed,” or only having the option to download the file and not see any of its contents.
Also Read: How to Find Large Attachments in Outlook?
Why is My Outlook Preview Not Working?
It usually happens because of one of these reasons. Just go through all these points to fix Outlook attachment preview not working.
- In classic Outlook, the attachment preview feature does not function properly
- The needed viewer is either not present or wrongly set
- There may be compatibility issues between Outlook and Office applications
- Attachment is in your message body instead going separately
- You cannot preview some file formats
- If your PDF previewer is facing issue in opening files
- Update Outlook to the latest version and restart it
- It can be due to temporary Outlook problem that prevents the preview of attachments
Microsoft explains that the classic Outlook employs an attachment & document preview feature that can be controlled via the Trust Center. It notes that it is not possible to preview attachments placed in the message body such as those listed prior to the subject.
Also Read: Resolve “Unable to Open Outlook Attachments” Issues Quickly
Outlook Attachment Preview Not Working – Follow 8 Manual Fixes
Just go through all these steps in sequential order to resolve the Outlook preview not working issue.
#1. Check if the Attachment Actually Supports Preview Option
Before proceeding, make sure to check the type and location of the attachment.
- The attachments present in Outlook typically show up below the header or subject.
- Simply select the attachment and see if there is a Preview option available
- If the file was embedded inside the email body, then Outlook may not preview it
- Instead of that, Microsoft suggests you to view the files through its application
- You can try another file type to view your attachments
For example, if the preview for a Word document is not working, you should check to see if the Excel file or image can be viewed. If some files work but others do not, the issue with the preview could be with the previewer and not the email application.
#2. Review Attachment Preview Settings in Classic Outlook
For classic Outlook users, it is possible to manage and resolve Outlook attachment preview not working issues by using the Trust Center option.
- Firstly, open Outlook
- Next, go to File > Options
- After that, look for Trust Center
- Under that, select Trust Center Settings option
- There, open Attachment Handling
- Ensure that Turn off Attachment Preview is not selected
- Select Attachment and Document Previewers option
- Check that required previewers are properly set or in enabled state
- Lastly, click OK and restart Outlook
This is a function that Microsoft has included for managing attachment preview in older Outlook versions. If you enable the above preview features, then it may help users to tackle the problem.
#3. Verify Office Installation Setup
This step is important particularly when you are facing problems while previewing data in Word, Excel, or PowerPoint file types.
Classic Outlook uses respective Office programs to preview separate document types. Microsoft points out that the attachment previewer requires compatible versions of Word, Excel, or PowerPoint with Outlook you are using.
For instance, if Outlook runs one installation of Office, and Word or Excel on different versions. Then, your previewer does not function properly. For that, you need to verify if:
- Both Outlook and Office are installed
- Your Word, Excel, or PowerPoint works properly
- Make sure that Office apps are updated
- Not to have more than one Office version
You can restart your computer and check the problem of Outlook attachment preview not working again.
#4. Check the PDF Previewer
There may be a separate issue while previewing PDF files.
An error message from Outlook showing “This file cannot be previewed because there is no previewer installed for it”. It simply tells you that the PDF preview component is missing or not compatible.
Microsoft reported cases in which the PDF reader and Outlook were working different versions, either 32 or 64 bit. Thus, you can’t preview your PDF attachments.
Find out which version of Outlook you are using in the following menu:
- Go to File > Office Account > About Outlook
- Check the PDF version you are using and confirm its compatibility
If issues with attachments occur only with PDF files, and not with Word and Excel files. You can focus on the troubleshooting process instead of modifying all Outlook versions.
#5. Check Outlook & Recent Updates
In some cases, the Outlook attachment preview not working issue may just be a temporary problem. Follow these points:
- Firstly, close Outlook and open it again
- If that does not work, just reboot Windows and try to open the same file again
Also, ensure to check if any known problems have been reported with your version of Outlook by Microsoft. It maintains a dedicated page for both its new and older versions of Outlook.
Take for example the issue that was notified by Microsoft in June 2026 where Microsoft Graph was appearing in Outlook. The solution given was to restart Outlook or refresh the web app. Thus, the issue regarding attachments may not lie with Outlook settings or your computer.
#6. Check the Reading Pane
This is also one of the factors to resolve Outlook attachment preview not working issue.
- You will be able to view emails and open attachments using the Reading Pane
- To check the settings, go to View > Layout > Reading Pane
- This is where you can choose the position of the Reading Pane or disable it
- The Reading Pane is enabled by default in the new Outlook
- Now, open an email that has an attachment and see if you get a preview option
- If not, you can click on Open or Download to see what happens
#7. Directly Open Attachments Instead of Previewing Them
- It is necessary to keep in mind that the steps are different for both previewing and opening an attachment
- For that, you must select the email and then click on the attachment
- You should click on the Open option instead of the preview one and try the file
- Open the file through the supported email application
- If the file opens correctly, it is probable that the file is acceptable and the problem lies while previewing it
- In case you have an unsupported format, then try to save the attachment on your computer in a local file
#8. Save Attachments Locally for Further Use
If you are facing an Outlook attachment preview not working issue, then the safe option is to download the attachments in your system.
- Select the file and click on Download or Save to OneDrive depending on the version of Outlook you are using
- This is particularly useful when you have many attachments to save and do not want to see them one at a time
- For instance, manually downloading files from hundreds of messages in an old mailbox can take time
What If Outlook Attachment Preview is Still Not Working?
Once you have followed the above methods and are still not able to preview. Now, you need to deal with the attachments. You may have to just fix the preview problem if all you need is to view one file. However, if you want to extract attachments, then opening email one at a time can be very time-consuming. In this case, you can use our professional solution mentioned below.
Best Alternative to Manage Outlook Attachments Efficiently
If you are not able to fix Outlook attachment preview not working issue after trying several manual fixes. The safest option is to download those files. However, it becomes hard when you have thousands of emails with attachments to save. This is where SysTools Outlook Attachment Extractor tool comes in. It allows you to extract the attachments from multiple Outlook files in one go. This way, you can get all the files safely without depending on the preview feature of Outlook.
Key Features:
- Easily extract attachments from several PST, & OST files
- Download Outlook emails in bulk mode
- Users can save inline & embedded attachments too
- It keeps your original folder structure
- Create a CSV report for every process
- Reduce manual effort and avoid opening each and every message in Outlook again
Conclusion
The problem with Outlook attachment preview not working could be due to preview options, the Reading Pane, or file formats that Outlook cannot support. Therefore, check these settings and make sure Outlook and Office are updated. If the problem is still not fixed, then use our professional solution to extract those attachments and save them locally without opening every email. It makes the process easy and you can continue your work efficiently.
Also Read: How to Restore Deleted Attachment in MS Outlook? Best Ways!