How to share photos in Google Drive? There are multiple ways available, such as sharing individual photos via a link, grouping multiple photos in a folder and sharing this folder, and many more. In this blog, I am going to explain each method step-by-step and share bonus tips.
Things to Check Before Sharing Photos
This is not that important, but it would be good if you check these things before you start sharing your Google Photos.
- First of all, group your photos based on event or date instead of individual files.
- Rename your generic camera names like IMG_345 to names for easy searching.
- Make sure you have enough free space to sync all your photos.
- Set a proper access level for your media files.
By following these points, you can smoothly share your photos without any issues.
How to Share Photos in Google Drive on Desktop?
If you are using a computer or a laptop. You can either share individual photos or share a link. To share individual files, follow the steps.
- First, open Google Drive in your web browser and log in to your account.
- Find your photos that you want to share. Select the share icon at the top (the three-dot arrow icon).
- Enter the recipient’s email address and select the recipient.
- Add the message that you want. Then, click the Send button.
Then, the recipient will receive an email containing your photo that they can view and save to their desktop.
Share Google Photos Using a Link
Instead of individually writing every person’s email addresses and sending your Google Photos. You can create a link and share it with them. Anyone who has the link can view your images.
- In Google Photos, select the image that you want to share.
- Click the Share button, then select the Create a link option.
- Press the Create link option again, and your photo shareable link is generated.
- Copy it, and now you can share it with others in your group chat or contact group.
This method is best for when you have to share your images with multiple people.
Easily Share Multiple Photos in Google Drive
The above methods can be done via the Google Photos app. If the images are in your Google Drive and you want to share them. Then, there are two ways to do it.
Share Bulk Individual Images via Google Drive
- Open Google Drive and find the pictures that you want to share.
- Select your photos, either click the More option (three vertical dots button) or right-click the selected images.
- Choose the Share option. Click the Share button.
- If you want to share with a specific person, add their email address through the search bar.
- Other than that, you can change Restricted to Anyone with the link option.
- Set your permission and click the Done button. Then, share the link to your image with your colleague or friend.
Group Photos in Drive Folder and Share It
Instead of individually sharing multiple pictures in Google Drive, move them into a folder and share the folder. Here’s how it is done.
- In your Google Drive, create a folder and move all your photos into it.
- Click the three dots next to the photo folder. You can right-click the folder.
- Select Share, then select the Share option again.
- Choose the sharing option, either by sharing with specific people or sharing with anyone via a link.
- Click the Done button, copy the link, and share with others.
Read More:
How to Share Photos on Google Drive on Mobile App?
If you are using Android or iPhone, follow the steps below.
Sharing an individual photo
- Run the Google Photos app and choose your photo.
- Press and hold the selected image. Click the Share button.
- Share with specific people, via another app, or via a link.
Share the complete album
- Open the Google Photos app and navigate to the Collections.
- Select Shared Albums. Press the Add or plus button.
- Enter a name for the album. Hit the Next option.
- Provide the contacts for the invite. Press the Create button.
Different Permissions for Sharing Google Photos
You have seen that when you are sharing your images, changing the Restricted option to Anyone with a link provides you with three options. These options are the access levels that allow the recipients to do what they can with the shared photos. These levels are:
- Viewer (Read Only): This is a secure option to share the images so that only the recipients can view them.
- Commenter: In this, you can make comments on photo drafts, edits, or selections without changing the files.
- Editor: Here, users get full control of their files to edit, delete, and share them.
These permissions help you to check who can view the files or modify them. So, make sure you carefully set the permissions when sharing your photos.
What if You Want to Move Google Photos to Another Account?
The reason people share their photos is to allow others to view and access the pictures. When your photos are in Google Drive, and you need to actually move them instead of giving the access. Then, you also have to move your photos. For this, use SysTools Google Drive Migration Tool to move a large collection of pictures without altering their quality.
Conclusion
Sharing Google Photos is very easy, as you can share them individually via a shareable link and use Google Drive as well. In this, I have explained all the methods to move your photos while also explaining the permission settings. If your goal is to transfer Google Photos to another account. Then, the software would be an excellent choice.