Watch How to Delegate Gmail Account
Why People Delegate a Gmail Account
Many people decide to take the step of delegation due to several reasons. A small business owner may want their manager to take care of service-related messages. A school administrator may want someone from his staff to handle student management emails. When you delegate a Gmail account. The other person (delegate) can.
- Read your emails.
- Reply to emails.
- Delete or archive emails.
- Organize folders (labels).
Note – The delegated person can never change your password or account settings.But here is where many people get surprised. If the person to whom you have delegated your Gmail account mistakenly deletes some important email. It can become a problem, and this results in lost contracts, tax records, and legal notices.
How to Delegate Gmail Account Step-by-Step
Let us check out the correct steps through which you can delegate your Gmail account.- Sign in to your Gmail Account
- Select all settings under the settings tab.
- Click on the Accounts and Import tab.
- Click Grant access to your account option.
- Select Add another account option.
- Enter the email address of the person you want to delegate your Gmail account to.
- The invitation will be sent to the delegate.
Once the delegate accepts the invitation, it will be done. This is the official way to delegate a Gmail account. It is considered extremely safe and better than sharing your passwords. But the risk here is that your delegate can delete your emails on your behalf, too. It can be thought of as handing over your car keys without insurance. Delegation without backup is the same mistake.
Hidden Risks Before You Delegate
We can think of Gmail like our house. If we share the password. It is like giving the master key of our house and control to the other person. But when we delegate a Gmail account. It is like giving only the guest key. One can only enter certain rooms. But delegation also comes with certain risks. Here are the problems people face.
- Important emails get deleted accidentally by the delegate.
- Attachments are deleted during inbox cleanup.
- Old-looking emails are archived.
Why Backup Comes Before Delegation
Before we search for how to delegate Gmail account. One should create a complete backup. It can be thought of as scanning each and every document in your filing cabinet before giving someone access. Even if papers misplace atleast you have a scanned copy. A proper Gmail backup helps you to protect.
- Emails.
- Attachments.
- Labels.
- Date-wise records.
- Important communication.
Steps To Save Your Gmail Data
- Download and install the tool.
- Select Gmail as the source and the workstation as the emails.
- Decide date range.
- Select your desired format, like (PST, PDF, MBOX, etc.)
- Sign in to your Gmail account.
- Authorize and verify yourself.
- Select the desired backup location.
- Start the backup process.
By following these steps. You will be able to create a safe offline copy of your Gmail emails, and then you can go ahead with the process to delegate a Gmail account.
With the help of this tool, one can not only create a backup of Gmail emails but also Gmail contacts, Google Drive documents, and Google Calendar. With this, you can manage your Gmail storage and will be free from the most commonly asked question. Gmail is running out of space.
Smart Way to Delegate Safely
The safest approach for Gmail delegation is.- Create a full backup of your Gmail Data.
- Verify that the backup is properly saved offline.
- Go ahead with the process to delegate a Gmail account.
- One should go ahead with delegation instead of sharing a password.
- Delegation should only be made after all data is saved offline.
- Always remove access when your delegate is no longer working for you, or when roles change.
Closing Thoughts
How to delegate Gmail account is simple. Doing it safely needs your Gmail data protection. When you decide on delegation, you are trusting him/her with your communication history. Make sure you also protect that history. This is what we call smart email management.Frequently Asked Questions
Can a delegate delete my emails permanently?
Yes, a delegate can delete emails. If only deleted from the inbox. After 30 days in trash, your Gmail emails will be permanently removed.
Is delegating a Gmail account the same as sharing a password?
Delegation only allows limited access to your Gmail account without giving your password or full access to your account.
How can one protect their Gmail data before delegation?
One can protect his/her Gmail data with the help of creating a proper backup of it and storing them in a safe place, like a hard drive or a computer.
Also Read: How to Turn Off Auto-Delete Emails in Gmail (Step-by-Step Guide)